Next Available Dates

  • No public courses currently scheduled. Please contact ALC.

In 2018, AXELOS announced that in 2019 they will launch an updated ITIL® certification scheme and examinations.

The update is due to be launched at the end of February. ALC aims to offer this version as of March 2019.

ITIL 4 has been designed to help organisations meet the increasing demand from the current complex digital environment. The new scheme has been designed to be backwards compatible with ITIL v3 and streamlined to encourage conversion beyond ITIL Foundation level.

The ITIL 4 Certification Scheme comprises of the following modules:

  • ITIL Foundation
  • ITIL Specialist modules (3)
  • ITIL Strategist
  • ITIL Leader
  • ITIL Master

To obtain the designation ITIL Managing Professional (ITIL MP) or ITIL Strategic Leader (ITIL SL), the professional must complete all modules in each stream, with ITIL Strategist being a universal module for both streams.

NOTE: For participants currently ITIL V3 Foundation certified, due to the structure of ITIL 4 Foundation, there is no transition module (bridging course) at the Foundation level. Should a participant wish to attend an ITIL 4 Specialist/Strategist/Leader course – then the recommended approach is to take ITIL 4 Foundation in order to be able to transition to the new scheme.

If you’re wanting to get certified ASAP, our lead trainer has the following notes regarding the difference between ITIL 3 and ITIL 4: 

At the foundation level there is little real difference for organisations in the workplace with either syllabus. In general the changes to processes are useful but fairly minor. The major change is at a higher level from the service lifecycle to the service value system. At foundation level the course gives people a high level view of the overall structure in the delivery of service.Currently more practical detail for the implementation of improved processes is available in the Capability courses.

If an organisation/participant is doing the training with the intent to start an improvement program they will benefit immediately from ITIL3.
However, if the objective is for the participants to be certified at the latest levels and continue on their ITIL course pathway then ITIL4 is the course to be certified in. Axelos will be releasing information on the Specialist Courses in late 2019 with training starting in early 2020.

To view course info, dates & fees for ITIL 3 – please click here. 

Learning outcomes

The aim of this course is for each participant to be able to:
  • Use the ITIL terminology
  • Understand the ITIL processes needed in your IT department
  • Identify the sub-activities for each best practice process
  • Understand your role and responsibilities regarding IT Service Management
  • Understand aspects of implementing ITIL processes and creating a cycle of continuous improvement.

Who should attend

The ITIL Foundation course is appropriate for:
  • Any individual working in an IT environment who requires a basic understanding of the ITIL framework
  • Any individual who needs a greater understanding of how an organisation can make use of ITIL to enhance the quality of IT services and the managing thereof
  • Anyone who may have an interest in the subject such as IT Managers, Service Desk staff, Operations staff, Developers.

Course contents

  • Key Concepts of Service Management
  • ITIL Guiding Principles
  • Four Dimensions of Service Management
  • Purpose and Components of the ITIL Service Value System
  • Activities of the Service Value Chain
  • Purpose and Key Terms of 25 ITIL practices

Course fees

Face-to-face classroom training

Fees per person

ITIL 4  Foundation Course (2 days) + Certificate Exam
  • $1,300 + gst (SPECIAL PROMOTION PRICE)

Fees include:

  • Comprehensive ALC course workbook, quality colour printed
  • Ofiicial Axelos ITIL 4 Foundation Textbook
  • ITIL 4 Foundation Certificate Exam (paper based, held in class)
  • Full catering including proper sit-down lunch, morning and afternoon refreshments


The ITIL 4 Foundation Certificate is an internationally-recognised qualification and is a prerequisite for further qualifications in ITIL.

  • Multiple choice examination questions
  • 40 questions
  • 26 marks required to pass (out of 40 available) – 65%
  • 60 minutes’ duration
  • Closed book.


There are no pre-requisites for this course.

Face-to-face classroom training

Next Available Dates

  • No public courses currently scheduled. Please contact ALC.

What our clients say