CIPT Certified Information Privacy Technologist: Course Contents | ALC Training News

  • No comments

The CIPT certification is comprised of seven domains:

1. Understanding the need for privacy in the IT environment
  • Evolving compliance requirements
  • IT risksc. Stakeholder expectations for privacy
  • Privacy vs. security
2. Core privacy concepts
  • Foundational elements for embedding privacy in IT
  • The information lifecycle
  • Common privacy principles
3. Privacy considerations in the information life cycle
  • Disclosure
  • Collection
  • Use
  • Retention
  • Destruction
4. Privacy in systems and applications
  • The enterprise IT environment
  • Identity and access management
  • Credit card information and processing
  • Remote access, telecommuting and BYOD
  • Data encryption
  • Other privacy enhancing technologies in the enterprise
  • Specific considerations for customer-facing applications
5. Privacy techniques
  • Authentication techniques and degrees of strength
  • Identifiability
  • Data protection by design
6. Online privacy issues
  • Specific requirements for the online environment
  • Social media and websites that present a higher level of privacy challenges
  • Online threats
  • E-commerce personalisation
  • Online advertising
  • Understanding cookies, beacons and other tracking technologies
  • Machine-readable privacy policy languages
  • Web browser privacy and security features
  • Web security protocols
7. Technologies with privacy considerations
  • Cloud computing
  • Wireless IDs
  • Location-based services
  • “Smart” technologiese. Video/data/audio surveillance
  • Biometric recognition

The CIPT body of knowledge outlines all the concepts and topics that you need to know to become certified. The exam blueprint gives you an idea of how many questions from each topic area you can expect on the exam. We recommend you download and read the following publications provided by the IAPP:

Jes Irving